Online Identities and how do you identify yourself?

 

Before Facebook and Instagram became the major social platforms of this era, there were GTalk and MySpace was used by the majority of the internet users and anonymity was the highlight among the users. Even though the internet has been improved and still is improving, the number of fake accounts is still increasing. According to this article, it is normal to have multiple online identities these days. As someone who manages multiple online identities, I agree with her views on “People having diverse, rich lives that aren’t contained within a single idea and personae or an account.”

Looking at my online identities chart, I use more social media platforms for my personal use and all of them are known to limited sources. For Tumblr, I use it for my interest in K-pop and TV shows and use it as anonymous. My Facebook and Twitter accounts are a mix of both uses but my Facebook account is set to a maximum level of privacy and security.  After reading through the discussion on FutureLearn, I have realized not all manage multiple identities, the reason being a hassle to them. I felt that online identities should have a clear separation between work and personal purposes. Most companies’ HR department check through social accounts of potential and existing employees to hire or fire them. There have been incidents when employees don’t separate work and personal issues on Social Media which results in serious consequences.

However, having multiple online identities doesn’t mean I am creating fake accounts to post malicious posts and comments, I’m just categorizing my online posts so that relevant will only posts that are relevant to them. I’m trying to be more effective at managing my multiple online accounts, though it feels like a hassle, it is a necessary action.

(298 words)

Aleks krotoski. 2012. The Guardian . [Online]. [20 November 2017]. Available from: https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2012/apr/19/online-identity-authenticity-anonymity

Futurelearn. 2017. FutureLearn. [Online]. [20 November 2017]. Available from: https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/learning-network-age/3/steps/263025#fl-comments

Nicole lee. 2016. Engadget. [Online]. [20 November 2017]. Available from: https://www.engadget.com/2016/03/04/multiple-online-identities/

Patrick kulp. 2017. Mashable. [Online]. [20 November 2017]. Available from: http://mashable.com/2017/11/02/facebook-phony-accounts-admission/

Dailymailcouk. 2017. Mail Online. [Online]. [20 November 2017]. Available from: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4823422/Man-fired-job-saying-run-protesters.html

3 thoughts on “Online Identities and how do you identify yourself?

  1. Hey Michelle,

    Thanks for the amazing video on the difference between having single and multiple online identities!

    You’ve mentioned using various platforms for different uses. Does this mean that you would have different networks across your accounts? If so, do you think its possible for your network to be integrated?

    For example, you stated that your Facebook account is of maximum privacy and security. Would you add your Tumblr networks, people of similar interest, to your personal accounts such as Twitter or Facebook? What problems or benefits do you think could arise from that?

    Cheers,
    Victoria

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Victoria! First of all thank you taking your time to read my post and giving back kind feedback.
      To answer your question, yes I have different networks across my social media accounts. This is one of the reasons I decided to manage multiple online identities. I want to separate the content I post into categories that is relevant for different groups of people.
      However, it is possible to integrate different networks together, before I integrated Facebook and Instagram together for the same type of content I wanted to post but now I decided not to do that for privacy purposes and also because I made my Instagram to be available to certain people especially friends. I would again emphasis on the point that it is not entirely impossible for integration. For example I would share good study tips and studyblr accounts found on my Tumblr to my Facebook. I hope I answered your question. Do further question me if you have more questions.
      Cheers,
      Michelle

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Different People. Different Approaches. Different Perspectives. | Journey To The Digital World

Leave a comment